My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Eternal Seas – Lexi Rees.

on April 27, 2020

Finn and Aria’s dad has a new job away from their usual route and he won’t tell them what’s in it, who it’s for, or why they are taking it. Instead they help him sail to Izmarli, the dangerous city who don’t like outsiders, full of bounty hunters and trackers. The city where they think their mother might be.

I’ve been reading this book a page a day with my 7 year old son. He is enjoying that much that he won’t let me read ahead! I’ve even tried sneaking a read when he’s in bed and he hides the book under his pillow. This is the first book that has captivated him like this, and to see him enjoy his reading as much as I do, is so good to see.

I’ve always tried to set an example and read with them, to them and let them see me reading on my own. They have their own bookshelves full, and yet this is the only book my 7 year old has wanted to pick up day after day, week after week.

The writing is well done, even the words that my son doesn’t know, he can work out by breaking it down and blending it back together. It’s been a perfect way for us to keep reading through the lockdown and I can’t wait to find out what happens next as he doesn’t understand what a cliff hanger is and keeps leaving me waiting to find out!

This is the first of two books that Lexi Rees has written in the Relic Hunters Series, the second is Wild Sky.  Both of these books are available on Amazon, as paperback, kindle or audible and can be found here and here.  I hope to see more of Finn and Aria, their adventures and the relationships that occur throughout.


Leave a comment