My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

On the verge of the third trimester…

on September 4, 2014

and I still feel sick! Yuck!  Whoever says that morning sickness goes when the first trimester is over lied to me.  I have felt worse this past week than I have done in a long while 😦

So this week, what have I been up to?  Probably doesn’t seem that much as I am struggling to walk and having funny turns :(  Since I last posted I have finished a bib and changing mat, and also been and got fabric to make more 🙂 I have also trailed a new pattern for clothe underwear liners as well.  I will definitely been making some more.

2014-09-01 10.27.53 chaning mat

2014-09-03 22.25.52 2014-09-03 22.26.18

I have also received the CE Self Certification Pack so I can test and then start selling my Snugglebears, Oliver loves his and I would like to make other little ones happy too. 

2014-04-27 08.08.56

The tests are gruesome and I feel sorry for the tester bear that I will be making, the poor thing will be set alight, have over 7kg hung from the seam and rods prodded into the seams to see if he tears.  Poor bear!  When I am doing the testing, I will take pictures and pop them on here so you can all see what each ‘toy’ has to go through. (I know this is a blanket but a toy can be anything that a child can be perceived as having a play value, so due to this blanket being bear shaped we have to CE mark them before we can sell them).

Other things I will be doing this weekend?  Well I will be making my tester bear tonight, ready to put him through the CE tests, I have finally found some material I like to make Oliver’s shirt for the sew a long I am involved in so I have the pattern all printed out, I just have to tape it together.  Hopefully I will have time to do this tonight so I can start sewing over the weekend.

Tomorrow, Oliver starts swimming lessons and I can’t wait to take him.  My little water baby hasn’t been for a while and I know he will love it.  Andrew is coming with us to help me with all the dressing/undressing since I will be getting in the water too.

Over the weekend I will also be printing off a new pattern:- The FishSticks Little One’s Layette pattern and I will be making some of the full baby grows for the hospital bag 🙂 I have some knit fabrics in so will be able to get them cut to sew straight away.  I can’t wait to see how these come out.

fish sticks little ones layette

I hope you are all well, I hope to be able to update some more pictures of finished items after the weekend.  Don’t forget we are on Facebook and Etsy too!

Leave a Reply

