My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Bits and Bobs

on May 20, 2013

We’re getting close to our holidays now – a week all inclusive in Lanzarote – I can’t wait!  (We really do need the break).  Oliver has been completely kitted out in new clothes, mainly because he is so long that he is moving up in 9-12 months due to his leg length so we put all them clothes in his case to take with us.  We’ve had a couple of new bits but unlike in the past, just bits rather than full new outfits for holidays – with Andrew not working we know that we need to watch the pennies.  Oliver’s clothes came from Primark and they are gorgeous – he even has a little tee shirt that states ‘Mummy is gorgeous’ on the front.  We had to get it 🙂

We’ve also got a ‘Chico Go’ baby carrier for just £15 from ASDA Home and Living.  It had been reduced from £26 and comes in red or black.  We got the black one.  I have always wanted to try baby wearing but never seen a carrier I liked at a decent price.  This one goes to 9kg which should do us at least 8-10 weeks at Oliver’s current growth rate so it will give me a good enough chance to see if it is something that I am comfortable with.  I would put a picture up, but Oliver was fast asleep as soon as we got in, so I will put one on as soon as I can!  I can’t wait to try it, I have made sure it fits me and even at a size 20 I have room in it 🙂

We also went to the park for the afternoon as Pepsi has been for a fur cut – she looks all pretty and ready for the summer now (if it ever comes).  Oliver had his first go on the swings.

2013-05-20 13.28.58

I’ve also been to the doctors as well, to discuss work.  My work are worried that I won’t be able to handle full time going back off maternity leave so they are writing to the doctor for her opinion.  I am over the moon to say that I shouldn’t have any issues, and besides, it is only for a temporary fix until Andrew finds something and then I will happily go on to the part time evening shift that I have been offered.  In the mean time I have been back to designing charts and kits for the website – if you haven’t yet had a look, they are available here.  Take a look and let me know what you think.  Don’t forget there are free charts available too!

for siteOWL

As well as talking about work, we had a chat about future pregnancies.  Andrew and I had never planned for more than one child but I really want more now :S after that midwife told me not to have any more I was really worried.  She told me that she doesn’t see any reason for us not to have more, it is likely I will have the same issues and it will have to be monitored and likely medicated again but as she hasn’t got any notes in my normal medical records she is going to write to my consultant that was monitoring me during the last pregnancy and ask.  That was a big relief, I have the implant at the moment but depending on what comes back from him, we might start to try for another baby.  I love being a mummy!

2013-05-20 18.09.29

The only other thing I have been guilty of doing recently is stitching, here is my progress on QS Dragonflies by Ching Chou Kuik (charted by Heaven and Earth Designs).  I am stitching it on 18 count magic guide aida (DMC) and using DMC variation floss which is giving a lovely effect.  The first picture is of the five out nine completed pages I have done – the second one is of the sixth page that I am currently stitching.  I am really hoping to have this finished before we go away as I have started to kit up my next stitch.

2013-05-11 22.58.452013-05-19 22.50.15

I hope you like them.

4 responses to “Bits and Bobs

  1. Mandy Currie says:

    Hello Kirstyanne, Your little Oliver has really grown, he’s such a cutie. I hope you enjoy your holiday and that when you get back Andrew manages to get another job. Have you heard of the FB group ‘A Stitching Post’, it’s all the girls from Stitchtalk and it’s lovely to get together. God bless. Kind Regards Mandy Currie

  2. kirstyross85 says:

    thank you for your kind words Mandy, I hope you are well x At the moment I am trying to limit the amount of craft groups I am in on Facebook as I am finding it increasingly difficult to keep up with them all x

  3. creative pixie says:

    Hi kirsty. I really enjoyed reading your post, you’re so honest about things 🙂 I hope you have a fun filled family holiday.

Leave a Reply

