My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Stitching update

on April 17, 2013

It isn’t much of an update as I am not getting all that much done at the moment.  But I thought I would share my current work in progress (WIP’s) pictures.  There are two.  Both are Heaven and Earth Designs.  The first is the piece for this years stitch along on the bulletin board.  I picked Literate Dragon by Randal Spangler and he looks like this at the moment:

2013-03-18 21.32.05

There are an awful lot of colour changes in this piece with 90 colours so I am finding it hard going stitching it with Oliver.  I have managed to complete the equivalent of half a page and have put in a request for QS Mystic Garden for my second chart (you get one free for each half page chart you complete) and I am hoping to at least finish the equivalent of the first page by the time the SAL is up so I can also request the Story Keep by Randal Spangler.  I would like to complete a lot more but I just don’t have as much stitching time any more, I wouldn’t swap Oliver for the world though.

The second piece I have been working on is worked in a single colour, it is QS Dragonflies by Ching Chou Kuik, also Heaven and Earth Designs.  It is one of her outline designs.  I have completed the first page and over 2 columns on the second one so far, this one is working up much faster due to the fact that there are no colour changes so the only time I have to change my thread is when I run out.  I am stitching it using DMC’s variation 4220 thread (it will take approximately 5 skeins of the thread to complete) on 18 count magic guide fabric (also by DMC) and am really enjoying it.  This is what it looks like so far:

2013-04-17 14.36.40

My apologises for the creases, it has been folded into the frame to prevent me causing any damage to the already completed part. x

Leave a Reply

