My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

0-6 (months) in no time at all!

on April 7, 2013

 

I can’t believe how much has changed in the last six months.  In fact I can’t believe how much has changed in the last twelve months when I really think about it.  In twelve months I have had my gorgeous little boy, completed my degree and re-launched (to an extent) Kirsty’s Kross Stitch. 

Friday 12th April will be exactly six months from when I gave birth to Oliver, and after a hectic pregnancy with Obstetric Cholestasis, Liver problems and other issues, then a super-duper fast labour (1 hour 40 minutes) that meant that Oliver came out with the cord around his neck, our troubles weren’t over.  He wasn’t breathing properly and needed a week in NICU.  He was the biggest baby in there, at 6lb 7oz, even though he dropped to 6lb 1oz.  He also couldn’t breast feed which meant I was expressing milk (sometimes painfully) at all hours of the day or night to be the best mum I could be… how wrong was I?  Breast is best for babies, but when it is making mum ill, and baby can’t latch on and feed naturally there have to be alternatives.  After 5 solid weeks of breast milk (all expressed) we began combination feeding until Oliver was finally taking formula full time.

306552_10151090746167011_730417541_n

Since then, he has bloomed!  We got over the jaundice with the light treatment in NICU, we managed to get over the vitamin D deficiency with drops and other than a cold and slight ear infection Oliver has no troubles.  He is now nearly 10lbs heavier than his birth weight at 16lb 3oz and he has such a gorgeous personality.  We have a baby that smiles near constantly.  He loves his cuddles and his snuggly to go to sleep but will happily play with his toys (or he terrorises Pepsi).  He is a chatterbox who likes to sing and shout with mummy, loves swimming and is such a mischief maker – I’ve had to buy lens cleaners for my glasses as he is forever pinching them!

Here are some of my favourite photo’s from the last 6 months, all of them have their own story.

386389_4003560412548_938101277_n

This one is of Oliver and my Gran less than one month old.  She was only able to share 3 months of her life with Oliver but I couldn’t be more pleased that she got to see him, hold him and snuggle him.  She is now a star on Oliver’s bedroom warm.

100_2786

At a month old, some of the newborn outfits were starting to fit instead of the tiny baby clothes – this picture of my bouncy baby always brings a smile to my face.  I can’t believe how much bigger than these teddy bears Oliver is now!

2012-12-25 06.06.04

Two months old and Christmas arrived.  Oliver was well and truly spoiled.  It would take far too long to list all of his presents, needless to say he is a vey luck boy.

2013-01-17 15.56.53

At three months Oliver began teething, babbling and laughing.  My baby boy turned into a little chatterbox!

2013-02-01 13.06.272013-03-19 12.31.21

Four months and we started swimming lessons.  Only 6 weeks until we got our first certificate!

2013-03-01 17.01.052013-03-04 10.27.342013-03-04 16.56.43

Then at five months Oliver decided he was interested in toys and other things.  So we have had toys and rockers out 🙂

2013-04-04 20.30.512013-04-05 11.08.51

And at six months he even has his own phone like Mummy and Daddy!  As you can see, Oliver is a smiley, happy baby, who is growing into a lovely little boy.  The time has gone so fat though, I feel like I’ve blinked and missed it.

2 responses to “0-6 (months) in no time at all!

  1. Mandy Currie says:

    He really is a lovely baby boy Kirstyanne, I’m so glad you are both well and happy.

Leave a Reply

