My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Where do I start?

on October 8, 2012

 

It’s been one of them days today.  I ended up having a good cry because sometimes I just feel so down that nothing else helps.

Anyways. I went to the hospital and had all my normal checks – my blood tests are coming back lower each time now, although there isn’t a massive difference they are still lower which to me is a positive thing.  My other test came back saying I had a high white cell count but midwife said she was expecting that since I am fighting off some form of cold (thanks Andrew 🙂 ).  I had a heart beat trace and was having Braxton hicks/tightenings every 3 minutes and I got really upset because every time one of them started the machine lost the baby’s heartbeat and showed a massive drop.  It did this for 30 minutes solid until a midwife came and held the monitor on in a different place.  By that point I was already worried and upset though.

I had all that then had to wait for the doctor to see me, and since I was already booked in to be seen in the clinic it didn’t make sense for the on call doctor to be called as it could have taken him ages (and Mr Beckett isn’t my consultant anyway).  So I sat in the waiting room until I was shouted (by a snooty health care assistant that complained that I didn’t get to her as fast as she would have expected and that I’m only pregnant.  Told her that if I was only pregnant I wouldn’t be in hospital 3 times a week.  Grrr!)  She showed me to a room and I was left there for 15 minutes which I found frustrating until I found out that it was because the doctor had been reading my notes before coming to see me and getting a plan in place with my consultant.  I felt better about that.

I had to have an internal examination because of the tightenings and she confirmed that I’m not dilated and if need be I can take paracetamol for the pain coming with them.  Then she explained the new plan to me.  I have to go back in tomorrow at 3pm to have a heart beat monitoring of baby done, then a blood test (just to keep an eye on it all) and after that I have a scan booked in for 4pm where they will do a scan of my liver to see how that is holding up, scan the cord to make sure the blood flow between the placenta and baby is okay and also a growth scan as she thinks he is measuring a little big for gestation… I have Wednesday and Thursday ‘off’ (as long as I don’t have any more reduced movements) and then have to go back on Friday to have it all repeated (minus the growth scan).  Then I have the weekend ‘off’ (again with the proviso that if there are reduced movements I go in anyway) and I have to go in on Monday to have it all repeated again and to get a date for induction.  The doctor told me that I will be induced between 37 and 38 weeks so at the longest it will be 16 days (that is really scaring me!) but could be as little as 9.  She explained how an induction works and what is involved too.  The doctor also explained the chances of needing a c-section and what causes them to make the decision of needing one in the situation of an induction. 

I haven’t really done a lot more stitching on the dragon pirate since my update this morning so I’ve no update on that for you but will try and get another one tomorrow.  I will of course update you after I have been to the hospital tomorrow as well, especially if there are any changes to the plan.  I hope everyone has had a good day x

eviction notice

One response to “Where do I start?

  1. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it
    up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. Cheers

Leave a Reply

