My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Mid Week Madness

on October 4, 2012

 

Somewhat of a hectic week so far.  After I was told I didn’t need to go back for monitoring until Friday I decided to have a night at my mums in Manchester so Tuesday morning before taking him to work, Andrew helped me to pack an overnight bag (my hospital bag was already in the car boot) as well as the dog and all her bits.  To save me worrying about her being on her own I had phoned my nana and asked would she and grandad look after Pepsi overnight.

So I dropped Andrew off and we got straight onto the M18 and drove across to the M62 that way.  It took us a couple of hours as there were road works for 12 junctions which was slowing traffic right down.  We got to nana’s for about 10.30am and I unpacked Pepsi and then went over to mums.  I got there just before her so I let myself in and sat down for a few minutes to recover from the driving.  My gran was with mum as well so I got to see gran which was nice.  I’m surprised she didn’t have a sore chin though after picking it up off the floor – she hasn’t seen my bump for a while so it was a bit of a shock to her! Talking of which I am 35 weeks today so when Andrew comes home tonight I will upload an updated bump picture.

It was nice to have a day chilling out at mums, Roan got home from school all ready to watch the Manchester United match and Dave was on nights so when mum dropped the last of the little ‘uns off that she looks after we went and picked Sarah up who has crocheted a really nice little blanket for the baby and done some canvasses to go on his bedroom wall.  We had some tea and then went to pick up a grill that mum had ordered from Sainsbury’s and at the same time drop Sarah off at home.  Mum and I had a chat then were in bed quite early.  (After a pint of milk – I think baby’s bones might be developing now).

I was awake at 4am and have managed to get some more done on the SAL Pirate Dragon from Heaven and Earth Designs that I have posted about in the past.  I am really enjoying stitching it at the moment and have finished all the blue in one colour for the sky so will be starting on the sparkly white in the Kreinik thread today.  This is the most recent picture I have taken but I have done a little more than this so will update that later when I upload the bump picture.

IMAG0770

I hadn’t had many movements though over Tuesday or yesterday morning so when it turned 9am I phoned Doncaster Royal Infirmary’s ANAU who told me I was to go into the one at Tameside for some monitoring again… what a palaver!  The monitor they were using was ancient – in fact if I didn’t know any better I’d say it was older than me.  It couldn’t keep the record of the baby’s heart beat so it wouldn’t meet any of the criteria it was supposed to.  After 45 minutes on that one, the midwife got the head of the labour ward to come down who suggested they used a new one that was on loan.  It was the same as the ones used at Doncaster across all the wards – so it only took 25 minutes to meet the criteria but the midwife wanted a doctor to review it.  Then the doctor wanted the consultant to review it as well… by the time I got back to nana’s to pick Pepsi up it was 1pm so I had a sandwich and coffee before bundling her into the car and driving back to Doncaster.  We were home just in time to have a drink before going out again to collect Andrew from work.

This morning I think nesting has kicked in.  I’ve just been to Asda and bought cleaning stuff galore (including a new Flash power mop – I’ll tell you what it’s like when I get to the bathroom).  I’ve come home and already have a bag full of rubbish and now this is typed up I am about to start on the next bit.  I’m trying to make sure I have plenty of breaks in between cleaning but I have to do it!  I thought nesting was a load of rubbish since I hadn’t got to that phase but I am thoroughly in it now!

I hope everyone is well. x

4 responses to “Mid Week Madness

  1. claire93 says:

    you’re doing well – let’s hope you can hold on for another few weeks

  2. kirstyross85 says:

    fingers crossed, 35 weeks today – maximum three to go! x

  3. Wonderful blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thanks!

    • kirstyross85 says:

      I use WordPress but blog from windows live journal which means I can back all my posts up too! I only have one hint for aspiring writers – WRITE! If you write you are a writer, you just have to put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. Make a point of writing for at least 5 minutes every morning before you get out of bed, let your subconscious take over and write without pause for 5 minutes solid. Go back to it later in the day, you will surprised what you find in there! x

Leave a Reply

