My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Bump is Still here

on September 15, 2012

for now!  I have been allowed to come home last night and actually got a full nights sleep.  Granted I woke a couple of times scratching but it was so much better than not being able to sleep for more than an hour…  The doctor managed to get me the menthol based cream and it is helping a little, my legs aren’t as bad, but it doesn’t seem to be having much effect on my hands, feet and arms.

I have to go back into the hospital tomorrow for monitoring and more blood tests and then I have to go back again on Monday for a liver scan, growth scan and an appointment with my consultant.  They are hoping that they will have all my blood works back at the same time so hopefully I will be able to get some proper answers off him with regards how long I can carry the baby for etc.

I want to say a massive thank you to everyone who has sent messages or asked about me this week, it’s lovely to know that so many people are thinking about you when you are stuck in hospital.  A massive thank you to my friend Claire as well who came to see me during visiting hours and even accompanied me to my growth scan on Wednesday so I wasn’t on my own. 

That’s all I have to update for now, when I know more I will be sure to try and get it on here.  So I’m off to get some more of my feeties done for the birth announcements as I am now more than half way through them all and am determined to have them finished before I need them!  So I go off to my stitching for the day.  I hope everyone has a lovely weekend x

IMAG0727

5 responses to “Bump is Still here

  1. Mandy Currie says:

    Glad you’ve been allowed to come home for the night, that’s good news. How long do you think before baby will be born? Nice to be able to get some stitching done, I’m sure all your goals have been put on hold for the time being.

    • kirstyross85 says:

      Hi Mandy, having 2 nights at home has been blissful, I missed my own bed but I have to say I’m in as much of a state itching at home as I am at the hospital so I’m not overly sure that there is a huge effect with the tablets they gave me. I’m not as tired though as I have managed to sleep so that is a positive thing.
      As for when baby is born – only the doctors and baby can make that decision. One doctor told me that they will try and get me to 34 weeks (11 days away) but another one gave me the steroid injections in case any of my blood works come back in a bad way. And of course on Thursday I had 9.5 hours of contractions! They were 3 minutes apart but not getting tight enough to dilate my cervix so it seems like baby might have other plans too. I’ve to go back to the hospital today to have more blood works done and another heart rate monitor on the baby then I should be allowed to come home again and I have an appointment to go in tomorrow to have a liver scan and another growth scan. The doctors should have my second lot of blood works then as well so I am hoping to get some actual answers and dates out of them.
      It’s been really good to get some stitching done, I have finished 2 lots of the feet in the past 2 days so I have 16 left to do before he arrives and I have the fabric and thread next to me to start the next one, it actually stops me scratching as my hands are busy. Other than that, my big stitching projects are all on hold and something tells me that they probably will be for a while. x
      Thanks for asking, I hope you are okay, I did send the email too x

      • Mandy Currie says:

        So far so good hey Kirstyanne, let us know in an update what the new bloodwork says. I’m so glad baby is unharmed at this stage and pray it stays that way. It’s nice that you’ve got little stitchings done, I haven’t even done that recently which is really bad, as I have lots of stitching just to be completed on my table in piles. lol Yes your big projects will have to wait, your body will need to heal from the stress of baby and the medication etc. It’ll be great when there’s no more prodding and such going on and you have your special little one in your arms. You will be tired though. God bless, you’re in my thoughts and prayers. xx

      • kirstyross85 says:

        Thanks Mandy x I will update today after I have seen the consultant x I’ve spent a bad night scratching and I’m sure it is getting worse as it now goes all the way up to my shoulders and onto my neck 😦 I can’t wait to not need medication again, I have bruises all down my arms from blood tests and am just tired in general x As for stitching I managed just over half of one set of feet yesterday, will have it finished today hopefully, I seem to get more stitching done when they keep me in though. I am hoping at my scan today that they can get a picture for me, last week he was in an awkward position (but I don’t think he moved much) so we couldn’t get one and I felt awful as I have now seen 3 more scans than Andrew (today will be the fourth). If they manage to get one I will pop it up later on today x

  2. I have been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

