My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

30 weeks gone!

on August 31, 2012

Well 30 weeks have passed and I am now counting down into single figures (as long as I don’t go over due).  I can’t believe what a journey it has been so far and in a way I feel like I’m ready for baby to be here now! I know I shouldn’t wish the pregnancy away but it is starting to get really hard on my back and other things are starting to be affected now so I’m finding it difficult to find that balance.

Here is my 30 week picture – not much more of an explosion in size this week but my bump is higher (and I’ve lost 2lb this week even though baby is measuring bigger still).  Please excuse the clothes and Pepsi who seems to be looking on in many of the pictures that have anything to do with the baby.

IMAG0698

 

I’ll be keeping weekly track now of my bump to see how much of a change there is in the last few weeks as baby should be gaining weight quite quickly now according to all the websites I’ve read up on.  How much weight is anyone’s guess until the next scan at 33 weeks and 4 days.  Hopefully they will be able to give Andrew and I a little more information then and we’ll also be able to look at birth options as we are seeing the consultant straight afterwards so she should have all the information for us then.  I think some of it may depend on the baby and how I am carrying.  Other bits may rely on size, my thyroid issues and my slipped disc.  I don’t want a c-section (emergency or otherwise) so if they want to intervene it will have to be an induction unless there are real worries about the birth.  Which I don’t think there will be.

We can tell that the baby is definitely getting bigger now – apart from the fact that the midwife has shown us how to measure my bump – movements are much easier to see and feel.  I’ve been really struggling to sleep as the baby is active from between 2am and 3am onwards until lunch and then seems to have a nap.  Did you know that at 30 weeks gestation a baby can dream?  I find it fascinating! I mean other than the sounds that they hear and movement that they feel they have no concept of fairy tales or the outside world so what could they possibly dream about?  Where the next kick is going to be in Mummy’s bladder? He he!

There was another strange moment the other day, and due to it I think our baby likes rock music like Daddy. I was on the phone talking to my cousin and there was a music channel on in the background playing classic soft rock.  During a natural pause in the conversation I realised that the baby was kicking in time with the music! It’s so strange how there are bits of personality coming through even before the birth.  I feel like I could tell you all about him and the routine we have, what he does and doesn’t like food wise, and what he likes to be doing.  I can’t wait to find out how close to the mark I am.  I do think he will be like Andrew in a lot of his ways though, Andrew is a morning person whereas the only day of the year I can ever conceive to be happy in the morning is Christmas Day when Santa has been!  Other than that, if I am up early you can guarantee that I’m not happy about it.  I struggle with a lack of sleep and so far this past few weeks I’ve been surviving on just 5 or 6 hours a night.  I’ve been going to bed at around 8.30pm – 9.30pm and sleeping until around 2am or 3am then it’s been impossible for me to get back to sleep.   I suppose it’s a routine I should get used to as I don’t think it will change much once November is here.

Right I suppose I must go and find my mobile (which I left on silent and have now misplaced).  Baby brain is well and truly setting in!  I wouldn’t mind but I had it less than an hour ago to give the number to the health visitor.  What silly things did you do due to baby brain?  I think us mums and mums to be should lobby to have it turned as a real medical condition not just a turn of phrase! x

See you all soon – if not before then this time next week for the next bump picture! x Enjoy your weekend x

5 responses to “30 weeks gone!

  1. wartica says:

    Great job with your weight loss, and keeping with focused:) You must feel amazing 😉

    • kirstyross85 says:

      believe it or not, I haven’t been trying to lose weight – it can be dangerous to baby while pregnant. I’ve just found that with morning sickness being really bad for the first 16 weeks and then baby getting in the way of my stomach my food intake has just naturally dropped. I got told off for it by a healthy living midwife who thought I was dieting drastically in the first trimester as by the time I was 16 weeks gone I had lost 19lbs, I have started gaining a little bit at a time but the last 6 weeks have only seen a gain of 0.5lbs even though baby is growing every week (in fact, is two weeks ahead) x

  2. claire93 says:

    the last weeks are the longest ^^
    make sure you get plenty of rest while you can . . . once baby is there, the 2am wake-ups for feeding will be frequent

    • kirstyross85 says:

      lots of people have said about the last weeks being the longest – I know I shouldn’t wish them away but on certain days I just can’t help it! I think he might be getting me into an early routine with the 2am wake up calls, luckily I’ve been dropping off at around 9pm so I am getting roughly 5 hours sleep a night at least x

  3. Lin Rhem says:

    Good article. I definitely love this site. Stick with it!

Leave a Reply

