My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

A Day at The Deep

on September 25, 2011

I’ve never been before and was really excited to be going – I love going to places like that, looking at animals and fish and taking lots of photo’s. (Although it was hard to get decent ones because of the ‘no flash’ rule).  I was pleased it only took us a couple of hours to walk around and it didn’t cause any real strain on my back, in the past I would have needed lots of stops to get around somewhere like that, we even used the stairs coming back up instead of the lift.  I thought I would share some of my favourite photo’s with you.

100_2570100_2584

This was the first aquarium – it wasn’t very deep.

100_2625100_2631

These clown fish were living among poisonous plants but have a thick slime that protects them.  They were very shy, these are the best two of many attempts.

100_2674100_2675

These jellyfish were in the deep area and like darker (deeper) waters – I love the blues in these photo’s!

100_2692100_2704

The reptiles were in smaller aquariums and vivariums as we walked around.

100_2732100_2748

100_2753

This swordfish and mantra ray were chasing each other in circles around the largest of aquariums as we walked back up the stairs to the main entrance – is it just me or does he look like he is smiling?

All in all it was a really good day, we both really had a good time and I would recommend it to anyone close by, it only took us 45 minutes to drive there and it was really easy to find off the motorway – very well sign posted.  We paid for our tickets online and I would say it is very good value for money.  There was plenty there to keep children of all ages (including me) interested as well as adults – there is even a discovery area and a play area (like a jungle gym) for under 5’s too!  The ticket gives you the opportunity to go again free of charge for the next 12 months and it is definitely an offer we will take up, although maybe in the week when there are less people there so we can spend more time looking and reading the information around the different tanks.

2 responses to “A Day at The Deep

  1. Mariajose says:

    I love them all. My favorite is the one with the ray, they’re just gorgeous. And funny, I always think they’re smiling too lol

Leave a Reply

