My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Cross Stitch Update 2011 no 2

on February 9, 2011

Okay, so I’ve been cross stitching for some time, I have done Winnie the Pooh cushion covers, little pictures and cards for gifts and bookmarks, but about five years ago at a cross stitch show at the Manchester G-Mex I bought this kit just because I fell in love with it:

(DMC BK164)

I hadn’t realised that this was an advanced kit and after about an hour of trying to make a start to it the penny dropped.  It went in the cupboard and got left.  Last year I managed to make a good amount of progress on it, this is what it looked like at the start of January:

Cleopatra

I had a sit down a few days ago with the kit and spent a full night, this is what it looks like now, just as I’m getting ready to make a start on another stitching session on her:

Cleopatra 1

I can’t believe how much progress was made in one session!

Now, I must admit, I sometimes get a little bored of working on the same project so I collect the little cover kits from magazines as well, and do one every now and again.  I think the fact that they are finished faster and I can see the progress within hours rather than days and months stimulates me to want to see the same progress on the bigger kits.  Fizzy Moon

Here’s Fizzy Moon who I have recently finished and framed

Isn’t he gorgeous!  I’m currently working on a little Margaret Sherry kit called ‘Bee Happy’ that came with a magazine as well.

So there it is, my first stitchy update of the year, I’m sure there will be more to follow!  Happy Stitching!

Leave a Reply

