My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

chapter 5 activities

on January 11, 2010

CAST LIST

SARAH: Student in twenties, dating John, studying English, cautious. Speaks with a Northern accent.

JOHN: Works in a garage, bolshy and outgoing. Has a Southern accent.

KATE: First year student, late teens, Sarah’s sister, outgoing. Speaks with a broad Northern accent not yet diluted from university.

WAITER: Italian waiter

SCENE ONE: Very busy Italian restaurant, 9.15pm, Saturday evening.

SARAH, JOHN and KATE are sat at a round table; they have just ordered their drinks and food. JOHN checks his watch.

JOHN: Saw, what time’s Darren gettin ere, Kate?

KATE: Anytime, he’s coming straight from work and he finished half an hour ago. (JOHN nods). How’s your dissertation going sis? Managed to get anymore done?

SARAH: (Shakes head). Can’t get into it, stupid thing. Feel like I’ve bin doin it for bloody months…

JOHN: You ave. (Laughs nervously).

KATE: What’s it on agen?

SARAH: The use of bad grammar in teen and crossover fiction.

KATE: Oh. (Frowns). What books you using as examples?

SARAH: The Twilight books an Ha – (Mobile phone rings and SARAH frowns).

KATE: Sorry sis, it’s Daz, one sec. (Lifts phone to ear). Hello. (Pause).

JOHN: You just wan’ed a reason to read them again din’t you? (Winks).

SARAH: Mebe. (Smiles).

(KATE stands up and exits SL)

JOHN: She okay?

SARAH: Dunno, I’ll follow her an find out. (Exits SL after KATE. WAITER fetches drinks).

JOHN: (Alone). Thanks mate.

SCENE TWO: At home in the living room, SARAH and KATE are on the sofa and JOHN is sat on the chair opposite. Later on in the same evening.

SARAH: He’s not worth the hassle Katy, how many times is this now? (Rubs Kate’s shoulder’s, Kate sobs). He int good enough for you, y’know.

KATE: You sound like mum did when you –

SARAH: This is different. (SARAH glances at JOHN and smiles).

JOHN: When what?

SARAH: Nothin Babe, don’t matter.

KATE: How’s it different?

SARAH: Just is, not now Katy. (SARAH glances over to JOHN quickly).

JOHN: Want a drink gals?

KATE: Mm, please. Coffee would be lovely. (SARAH nods).

SARAH: I’ll have a coffee too Babe. (JOHN exits DS through a doorway) So what you gonna do? Is it really worth dropping out over him when you’re right at the end of your first year? Why waste it?

KATE: Dunno, I don’t wanna talk about it. (Shoots a frown at JOHN through the door).

SARAH: (Nods) Okay.

SCENE THREE: KATE is alone in the bathroom at home, 11pm Saturday evening.

Kate sniffs and wipes tears from her face as she cleans the make up off over the sink. She scrubs at her face.

KATE: Why do I always get the idiots? All I want is to get on with my uni work and have some fun. If Sarah can do it then surely I should be able to. I mean, she’s the shy one. Two weeks here and she was head over heels in love with John. Lucky bitch. (beat) And he’s head over heels in love with her as well. (turns tap on and rinses her face). I can’t believe she even brought it up in front him! He’s gonna go runnin to mum and dad now and there’ll be more arguing. (sigh) I can’t be arsed with it all anymore. Mebe I should just quit and go to some other uni next year. I need to get as far away from here as possible (beat) and him. I can’t believe he stood me up. Me! Look at me, she’s nothin compared to me. Hope they argue an split up. (throws flannel back into sink) (beat) I should probably think on it tho, I can’t leave Sarah here with him alone. (walks to door and exits DS).

 

 

 

Character B as high status, A as low.

A enters room and goes to reception desk. Receptionist calls B who then enters SL.

B: Mr… er? (B offers his hand for handshake)

A: Jones, Mr Jones. (wipes hands on trousers and then shakes).

B: Jones (starts to write on clipboard).

A: With a J.

B: Fine. (Frowns and continues to write)

A: Took me a while to find you.

B: (Looks up) And you’ve come about one of the marketing positions Mr Jones? (Indicates to a chair and both sit down).

A: Yes. Good job I allowed enough time.

B: First test of initiative you could say. (Not looking up from the clipboard) Now tell me about yourself, can you fill in the blanks from your CV ?

A: (Nods) Where do you want me to start?

B: Do you have any experience?

A: Experience? (weak smile) Oh yes, I should say so.

Character A as high status, B as low.

A enters room and goes to reception desk. Receptionist calls B who then enters SL.

B: (slumping) Mr… er? (B takes A’s proffered hand limply, for handshake)

A: Jones, Mr Jones.

B: Mr (beat) Jones (starts to write on clipboard).

A: With a J.

B: Oh (beat) Okay

A: Took me a while to find you.

B: (Looks up) And you’ve come about one of the marketing positions Mr Jones? (Indicates to a chair and both sit down).

A: Yes. Good job I allowed enough time.

B: (sheepish grin) Fir, first test of initiative you could say. Now tell me about yourself, can you em, fill in the blanks from your CV ?

A: (Nods) Where do you want me to start?

B: (Flicks through papers on clipboard nervously) Do you have any experience?

A: Experience? (grin) Oh yes, I should say so.

Characters A and B as high status.

A enters room and goes to reception desk. Receptionist calls B who then enters SL.

B: (smiling) Hi, Mr Jones? (B looks at clipboard briefly and offers hand)

A: Took me a while to find you. Nice and set back out of the way. I like that.

B: And you’re her about the marketing position? (Indicates to a chair and both sit down).

A: Yes. Good job I allowed enough time.

B: (wide grin) First test of initiative you could say. So, just for my benefit can you run me through your CV in a bit more depth ?

A: (Nods) Sure. Where do you want me to start?

B: Tell me, do you have any experience?

A: Experience? (grin) Plenty, I should say, I was the chief marketing executive for Microsoft after all.

Character B as high status, A as low. (status shift)

A enters room and goes to reception desk. Receptionist calls B who then enters SL.

B: Mr… er? (B offers his hand for handshake and smiles)

A: Jones. (shakes hands).

B: Jones (beat). Sorry I’ve had that many people come in for interviews today that I’m all mixed up.

A: (Nods) Took me a while to find you. Good job I allowed enough time.

B: First test of initiative you could say. (Not looking up from the clipboard) Now tell me about yourself, can you fill in the blanks from your CV ?

A: (Nods) Em, where do you want me to start?

B: Do you have any recent experience in marketing at all?

A: (straightens up in chair) Experience? (smile) Oh yes, I should say so. Sure I’ve just spent two years as Microsoft’s Chief of Marketing.

B: (taken aback) Why, why did you leave?

Leave a Reply

