My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

7.2

on January 11, 2010

again formatting hasn’t stuck

ACTIVITY 7.2

CAST LIST

ANDREW: Dating AMY, spent a lot of time in Whitby already

AMY: Never been to Whitby before

MAN: Driving the lifeboat during the trip.

LADY: Mother of two boys on the boat

BOY 1: Youngest child of the lady on the boat

BOY 2: Oldest child of the lady on the boat

SCENE ONE: MORNING, CAR PARK IN WHITBY.

SEAGULL NOISES, SHUTTING OF THE CAR DOOR

WAVES MOVING QUIETLY IN THE BACKGROUND

AMY: God, you can smell the sea. Can’t see it though, is it far?

ANDREW: No, it’s just over there.

NOISE OF PEOPLE TALKING IN THE BACKGROUND

ANDREW: Where do you want to go first?

AMY: Dunno, I’ve no idea what’s here apart from the Abbey.

ANDREW: Well, we can walk across to the Abbey if you want, there are some sights on the way?

AMY: Okay, let me put my coat on.

ANDREW: Do you want to go up the steps or the hill?

AMY: Hill.

ANDREW: Do you not want to count them?

AMY: What?

NOISE OF WAVES GETS LOUDER AND BOAT HORN SOUNDS

ANDREW: The steps, there’s one hundred of them.

AMY: Can’t we do that coming down?

ANDREW: Okay, the Endeavour’s over there. You know, Captain Cooks ship?

AMY: Want to go on it?

ANDREW: Nah, I’ve been on it before.

AMY: Look!

BOAT ENGINE GETS MUCH LOUDER

ANDREW: It’s the old lifeboat. Do you want to go out for a ride?

AMY: I don’t know, I get sick on little boats easily.

GROUP OF GIRLS LAUGHING

ANDREW: Come on, it would be fun…

AMY: Okay, how much is it?

NOISE OF ITEMS MOVING IN A BAG

ANDREW: Three pounds each, it goes to the life boat fund as well.

AMY: Okay, here.

COINS JINGLES BETWEEN HANDS

MAN: You guys up for a ride then?

ANDREW: Sure are.

CREAKING OF WOOD

AMY: Oh

ANDREW: Grab the rail then, I’m behind you.

AMY: Is that so I can fall in first.

ANDREW: Don’t be daft. You on?

AMY: Yep, you?

ANDREW: Yeah, go and sit near the front.

WAVES AND SEAGULLS NOISIER

MAN: Okay, we’re all good to go. Hold on while we get out of the harbour and then the water won’t be as choppy.

AMY: You been on this one before Babe?

MAN: I hope not, we only decommissioned her last year.

AMY: Oh.

ANDREW: There’s the Abbey up there look.

AMY: Are you telling me you want me to walk all the way up there?

ANDREW: It’s not as far as it looks. I promise.

SHUFFLING NOISE

LADY: Excuse me, excuse me. Can you take a picture of us please?

ANDREW: Sure. Do you have a camera there at all?

LADY: Yep, it’s here. You just press this button on top.

ANDREW: Okay, no problem.

LADY: It’s not often I get to be in the pictures, I normally just get to take them.

AMY: Aw, your boys are lovely.

LADY: Thank you

ANDREW: Say –

BOY ONE: Cheese –

BOY TWO: Sausages.

ANDREW: (LAUGHING) How about bacon and eggs?

BOY ONE: Bacon and eggs

BOY TWO: Bacon and eggs

THE CAMERA CLICKS AND FLASH GOES OFF

ANDREW: That okay for you?

LADY: That’s lovely, thank you.

ANDREW: No worries.

MAN: You okay boys?

BOY ONE: What’s that?

MAN: It’s a buoy.

BOY ONE: Like me?

BOY TWO: No, silly. It’s for the boats in the sea.

MAN: That’s right. It tells us which way the wind blows.

BOY ONE: Ah.

MAN: Can you see the bell?

BOY TWO: I can hear it!

MAN: So can I.

Leave a Reply

