My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Tracing Families

on August 27, 2009

It’s not as easy as you would think, especially when there are children without marriage, adoption, remarriages and step-families to contend with.  The records I so longed to order, it seems have been destroyed in a fire many years ago, wiping out my grandfathers records from the Navy and my connection with him in some senses.  I wish I had known him for longer than I had, I have no stories that are anything more than that about him, it’s all second hand information and it upsets me.

I also started looking into A’s family as well, that is a difficult one to look through although there seem to be more documents and things about the house from his dad’s family and the wars.  Hopefully I’ll have something solid for them when they come home at Christmas.

The information is going to start taking over again soon and I have very few solid sources but they are too expensive to buy in bulk.  I wouldn’t mind getting some after the wedding and Christmas is out of the way, maybe save up and buy 10-15 at a time.  I also need to save up for a trip to Ireland that I’m not sure I want to go on just yet, there’s a lot of searching to do over there but until the rest of my information is based on solid sources I don’t want to waste time and money.

At the moment I seem immersed in history and am unable to make head nor tail of it to see how it links up, I would eventually like to put some form of book together so I can put copies in the libraries and family history societies local to the families.  Though, that means Manchester, Sheffield, Doncaster, London, Edinburgh and County Clair in Ireland.  I seem to have a lot of trips to organise and fund, I think my first needs to be to the National Archives though.

4 responses to “Tracing Families

  1. nadine says:

    I know that feeling. I\’ve been researching for 5yrs and nowt has really gone right for me. Hope you have better luck with yours

  2. Kirstyanne says:

    cheers huni, I\’ve been researching since I was 14 and am only now starting to get somewhere. I have managed to get back to 1585 on one branch but have yet to verify it

  3. nadine says:

    Good luck with that, hope it works out for you? I can go back to 1951 but no further as all the records are in Ireland lol x

  4. Kirstyanne says:

    it can be difficult, do you have a tree on genesreunited and ancestry? you may find someone who lives close to the particular records office who will offer to do a search for you if they are going there anyway x

Leave a Reply

