My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Activity 12.1

on January 20, 2009

My new, white dress is getting dirty, the floor wet

I enjoyed the party after the Church Service

We got some sweets after being confirmed by the priest

Our Sunday School teacher’s proud of us ‘real’ Catholics since our confirmation

My crown keeps slipping off my head

Daddy bought it and though it’s too big I promised to wear it

 

My little brother cried and cried during Mass

I could see Mum’s embarrassment rising in her cheeks, the colour changing

She took him out of the pram and hushed him up

Bouncing him up and down on her knee

 

Daddy couldn’t come though

He had to work like normal; he misses all the best bits

I don’t know why he has to spend so much time there

He’s gone in the morning and tired in the evening

Sometimes he’s tired and just goes to bed with hardly a word spoken

Mum says that’s how he paid for my new dress

Leave a Reply

