My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Free write – New Years Eve Kiss with a Stranger.

on January 2, 2009

The pub was full of couples all counting down in a rugged unison, the clock was ticking and it was nearly the next year… Still, I was alone again and didn’t want to bring in the new year on my own.  A quick glance around the pub told me that there wasn’t any singles in there that night, i couldn’t find someone in there. 

A quick dash outside and there were loads of blokes together in a group, cans in hand bringing in the new year as friends.  I wish I could do that.  He looks disinterested from what’s going on – I’ll have him.  One swift grab of the shirt and a shout of ‘One!’ from inside propelled me forwards to kiss his lips.  I looked at his eyes as we parted.  ‘Happy New Year.’  My feet were shuffling side to side and my toes were freezing, ‘Sorry, I didn’t want to bring it in alone again, you like kind of off to one side and like you could have used some company.  Sorry.’

‘Hey don’t worry about it, my names Lee, I didn’t want to bring it in alone either, can i get you a drink?’

 

I promise this is no stranger, this is me and my fiancé bringing in the new year 🙂

Leave a Reply

