My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

My Baby Sleeps

on November 25, 2008

My Baby Sleeps

I lay awake at night

Listening to your deep breaths

Your murmurings are answered

And your dreams move on

The bed is warm the blanket soft

I’m scared to wake you with the slightest cough

I’ve slept badly these past few nights

Sometimes not even putting out the lights

While you sleep

I think and edit

Doze on and off for a minute at a time

Lay in bed, our nest, our pit

I’m so glad you’re mine

I’m yours to keep

I love watching you Baby

While you sleep.

Leave a Reply

