My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Granddad’s Ghost

on November 21, 2008

I don’t remember my Granddad; I was still a baby when he passed away. He died in old age of lung cancer, at home. From what my mum and Gran have told me about him, he sounds like the most generous person I could have ever wished for as a Granddad and it upsets me sometimes that I didn’t know him.

I have met him once though and I remember it very well. Do you believe in ghosts, in the afterlife and spirits? I do, I believe that my Granddad is watching over me, even now, while I’m writing this I know he is looking out for me from above.

Some people talk about haunted houses, others talk of poltergeist, a few talk of seeing people where they died and claim to have the sixth sense. The ability to talk to those that have passed on, to pass messages on to their family members left behind. Although not everyone believes in the afterlife those that do can sometimes provide a gullible market for those that are good at telling lies and making money.

I don’t claim to have the sixth sense at all, I’ve sometimes felt a presence around me, something that I can’t explain to other people, it’s as if someone is stood over me – looking over my shoulder almost and I get goose bumps on my arms and neck. Other times I’ve had dreams about people I’ve never met, in places I’ve never been. I’ve known all about them and had conversations with them and the dream has been extremely vivid but in the morning the only thing I’m left with is a vague image and a slight notion of what we were talking about.

There is one time that stands out though, it was different, and I don’t think I was dreaming. I was sleeping in the ‘box room’ at my Gran’s house, the smallest bedroom; it just about fits a bed and the wardrobe in there. I think I woke up, if not I woke into a dream. You know, when you know you’ve been asleep but now think you’re awake, only to wake up again later on to realise that you was still dreaming. My Granddad was stood at the foot of the bed, smiling down on me, he never spoke and although he’d been dead more than ten years, I wasn’t scared in the slightest. I remember he was wearing a light blue cardigan and grey trousers, his glasses were pushed right up to the top of his nose and magnified his sparkling eyes. Why I wasn’t scared I don’t know I’m sure most people would be if they had seen a ghost or had any notion of a ghost in the bedroom with them – especially a child alone in bed. The room felt warm and I was comforted, strange that most people describe ghostly encounters as chilly or cold when I was warm and safe. I still sometimes feel the same presence, my Granddad’s warm arms keeping me safe in the night. My Granddad’s hair was thinning on the top and his skin was lightly tanned, the very image of a pleasant old man who you would automatically describe as a Granddad. It was a weekend so I didn’t have to be up early for school. As my Granddad faded I turned over and went back to sleep.

When I woke up the second time and went downstairs my Gran was sat in the living room by the fireplace in her dressing gown and slippers. I told her about the midnight visit of my Granddad while I was in bed. I described what he looked like and what he was wearing, her face went pale. This was unusual as she has never minded talking about him before, in fact sometimes she can talk about him for hours on end. I watched her stand up and go upstairs to her bedroom, after only a few minutes she came back down with an old biscuit box which had clearly been kept from Christmas in years past, now being used as a storage box. She sat down again and began to leaf through the photographs stored in there before pulling one specific one out. It was my Granddad exactly as I had seen him the night before, he was stood in the back garden holding the hands of a baby – me. I had never seen the photograph before and even now I don’t remember the picture being taken, but I had been able to describe him exactly before being shown the picture. He’s the reason I believe in an afterlife and the reason I believe that he is still watching over me is down to that one night. Just because he’s passed on doesn’t mean he’s gone away for good.

Leave a Reply

