My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Activity 5.5 – Character Monologues

on November 14, 2008

A DISILLUSIONED NURSE – 300 WORDS

‘You know, I remember when I first decided to be a nurse. I was nine maybe ten at the time; still in primary school anyway and I’d been watching a programme on television with my mum. It was about different children’s wards in hospitals across the UK and even though the doctors were the ones doing all the fancy operations it was the nurses that seemed to do all the hard stuff in between. I’d never been in a hospital myself so I only had that programme to go off. That night when I went to bed I resolved myself to becoming a nurse – just like the ones on television so I could help people, children in particular. Just like the poorly ones I’d seen on television.

I worked my socks off through High School and College so I could get a place in a good University. And then worked them off again not only to get a good grade through University but also on the agencies so I had some money coming in whilst I was there. When I graduated and started work full time I was full of vigour and renewed energy at one of the local hospitals on the children’s ward. Not the long hours or the night shifts bothered me; until after about a month when I became a fully fledged member of the ‘team’. That was when I first noticed the difference, my work load getting bigger by the day and I don’t think I ever heard anyone say ‘thank you’ even if I’d gone the extra mile for someone, swapping a shift or staying late when someone needed help. Not for going above and beyond when I could have just done my job. I wonder if it’s still worth it?’

A BORED, GIFTED STUDENT – 300 WORDS

‘I wish the teacher would start something new soon, I mean we’ve been doing this project for nearly a full term now and I’ve run out of things to do. The work was easy so as usual I had it all finished in a couple of weeks even though six weeks down the line people are still finishing their coursework piece. I’ve even done the activities for extra credit. What am I supposed to do, sit and stare out of the window for six weeks? I’d take in a book but I’d get teased for being finished already. How lame is that? Being teased for being good at something. Mostly I just sit and write. It is English Language after all. I’ve a notebook that I use to write quick descriptions of the world around me, even the people and once in a while I get the urge to write a quick poem. They’re never very good but it relieves me of the constant boredom of having nothing else to do in class but stare out of the window and watch the other years playing netball. I just wish that there was another set above the one I was in where we could get through more work faster and actually learn more. Do you know what I mean? I feel like I’m being held back and there is nothing that me or my teacher can do about it. It’s not his fault that I always get through my work so fast, and he always gives me ways to improve, to make my work even better which is great because I’m already writing at A level standard. All of my GCSE course work has been graded at an A* though so I can’t really improve my current grades. It’s not fair.’

Leave a Reply

