My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Activity 1.4 – Sunday

on October 5, 2008

 

The T.V  programme  was  different  but  some  how  the  same,  except  it  wasn’t  Andrew  planning  the  Wedding,  our  wedding,  it  was  a bunch  of  strangers.    Family  I  could  have  understood,  but  there  was  no  warning  of  the  change.    We  were  both  worried,  for  different  reasons,  I  had  heard  nothing  of  the  invitations  or  been  asked  for  dress sizes  for  me  and  the  bridesmaids.    Andrew  was  more  worried  about  the  bigger  picture,  how  could  a  complete  stranger  plan  our  wedding?    Our special  day?    He  was  right  as  well  but  we  couldn’t  go  back  on  the  written  contract  we’d  signed.    Even  if  we  wanted  to.    There  was  some  leniency  though,  we  were  allowed  to  choose  our  colour  scheme  and  our  parents  wrote  the  guest  list.   

 

The  day  of  the  wedding  arrived,  no  suits,  no dresses,  we  didn’t  even  know  where  we  were  going  to  get  married.    There  was  a  feeling  in  the  gut  of  my stomach  that  everything  was  going  to  go  wrong.    The  cars  turned  up  normal  limousines,  so  far  so  good  but  we  still  had  no  wedding  clothes.  They  told  us  it  didn’t  matter,  so  we  climbed  in  the  back  of  the cars,  cameras  in our  faces  and  sat  back  to  wait  for  the  next surprise.  I clung  onto  Andrew’s  hand  as  if  it   was  the  only  lifeline  I had,  we  did  have  another  one.    We  could  say  on  live  television  that  we  didn’t  want  to  get  married  like  this.    We  could  say  this  at  the  alter,  hey,  it  made  good  T.V  they  said.    We  were  both  thinking  about  this  in  the  car.    We  pulled  up  at  a  field    chairs  set  out  in  rows  under  a marquee,  with  pink  and  lilac  flowers on  the  back.    I’d  specifically  said  no  pink  in  the  colour  scheme,  it  was  already  wrong.  The  next  thing  was  the  dresses,  the  bridesmaids  turned  up,  they  were  wearing  green.  Not  lilac,  green.    The  tears  were  rolling  down  my  cheeks  before  I even  saw  my  dress,    I  was  helped  into  a  horrible  paisley  dress,  before  being  what  felt  like  marched  down  an  aisle,  this  wasn’t  my  day  and  it  wasn’t  supposed  to  happen  like  this.    I  could  see  people’s  faces  downcast.    I  got  to  the  end  of  the  aisle,  and  the  registrar  started  talking. 

            ‘I  don’t,  I  can’t  do  this.    No,  I’m  not  getting  married  like  this.    You  didn’t  keep  to  your  side  of   the  contract  so  I’m  not  sticking  to  ours.     Get  the  cameras  out  of  here,  come  on  Andrew,  were  going  home,  we’ll  do  this  another  day.  Our  way.’

The  lawyer  jumped  up.

            ‘You  can’t  do  this.    You’ll  break  the  contract.’

            ‘A  contract  that’s  already  been  broken?    She’s  right.    They  said  they’d   honour  colour  schemes  and  guest  lists.    We  specifically  said  no  pink    do  you  see  pink?    She  asked  for  lilac,  where  is  it?    They  didn’t  keep  to  their  end  of  the  deal,  why  should  we  keep  ours?’

            ‘Well  erm…   I’d  have  to  check  the  contract.’      

            ‘You  can  see  its  not  right  and  as  you  check  that  we’ll  be  at  home,  camera free.    Come  on  I  want  to  go  and  get  out  of  this  god  awful  dress.’

Leave a Reply

