My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Activity 4.3 Cultural Poem/Prose

on October 2, 2008

The turn of the Millennium and the years to follow had a big effect on my family and a big effect on Manchester too.

From New Years Eve watching the fireworks the changes started to happen.  Wrapped in my warm coat I took the phone off Nana to say happy New Year to mum, she had some news she said.  The news was a shock; she was pregnant – having another baby.

The feeling of elation, of being lifted high enough to touch the stars set in.  I was going to have a baby brother or sister again!  The year of the millennium flew, we had a scorching summer and my brother was born.  Then I started my exam year at high school, the building work begun for the stadium for the Commonwealth Games and my entire childhood landscape changed.

Buildings sprung up, I got my exam results and left school with a divine mixture of happiness, sadness, and apprehension, before moving on to college I started working with my Gran as a cleaner.

In college one History lesson my phone rang four times gaining me a rollicking from the lecturer.  It was my boyfriend calling to tell me that the Twin Towers had been brought down by two planes, the date? September 11th.

The following year forgot the devastation and brought the tradition of the Games.  The streets in Manchester were filled with colours of all nations, athletes and viewers alike.  This was followed quickly by my first ever concert – Californication the Red Hot Chilli Peppers.  I was growing up.

Leave a Reply

