My Journey

From mind to paper and back again.

Activity 2.4 Childhood Reading

on October 2, 2008

 

I can remember reading from a very early age, finishing all the books in both the Infant and Junior libraries before finishing year five.  Rather than playing out I would go and sit in my room and read one of the many books I was either bought or had borrowed from Droylsden Library.  In high school I especially liked to read books about relationships because I was coming into my own and beginning to relate to some of the stories I was reading.  Reading was my way of escaping (and also my way to get out of cleaning my room).

 

 

There are three books that had an impact on the way I looked at books and more importantly life.  Out of the three of them two were books that I read during English lessons.  Kevin and Sadie Across the Barricades, To Kill a Mockingbird, and the last one was the Heartbreak Café series.

Across the Barricades made me think of religion and the way that it had affected my family and also myself.  The cause of me not being Christened and my mum and dad not really having a relationship.

It made me see what religion could do to people.

Leave a Reply

